Too Busy Gaming or Reading

So…it’s been a long time since I’ve written as I’m basically stuck and have also lost quite a lot of motivation due to various reasons. Good news is I’ve gotten accepted into an MBA program. Bad news is once I start it is even more unlikely for me to be writing.

Basically, for the past few months I’ve been either gaming like mad (bought a lot of games from Steam, replayed Dragon Age II and played Dragon Age Inquisition), or reading Chinese BL like mad (though, thanks to my niche tastes, I have DNF’d most of the fics I happened to try).

I’ve also stopped using  Saowen.net because of some stupid unbelievable drama where an author ended up successfully requesting the deletion of all her works (and thus all the negative reviews) from that site. I was so angry at the author and at the site (which was a personal project that got sold to JJWXC after the ruckus) that I backed up my reviews and will be deleting them all some time in the future.

I left a lot of reviews on that site and there is no quick and easy way for me to delete them all, but the mere fact that authors can remove their work & reviews from a (no longer) third-party site was a serious violation against my values. The author in question was known for deleting negative reviews from JJWXC, which was why all the negative reviews popped up on that site, and now even those reviews are gone. Mind you I never got past the totally Gary Stu and boring fics the author wrote and didn’t read the most controversial fic she wrote (she’s on my blacklist because I tried to read two of her fics and dropped them for the same reasons: 攻蘇破天,受是SJB,無三觀,劇情無聊拖沓). However, I know what happened and I do not like the author.

As an author of course I know negative reviews can hurt and demotivate authors from writing (*cough*). But so? Doesn’t mean the author is entitled to having everything reviewed on the website it was published on, especially if they are charging money, which that author was. You put your shit out there, then prepared to get some criticism and a reality check. The Chinese BL community is great mostly, but this drama was totally messed up, mostly thanks to the author’s immature, zealot fans who have no logic when the shit blew up on Weibo and other forums. Esh. All Chinese BL fics are published as serials online so several authors think they’re entitled to asking every reader to leave (positive reviews) on the site it was published. Meh.

Anyway despite all the drama that totally pissed me off, I did get really immersed in several fics over the past month. Very satisfying to have finally found dynamics to my taste, too bad I finished those fics and now I am forced to read (more likely drop) a lot of ‘meh’ fics.

As for writing…eh. I keep saying I will get into it but I am not very motivated anymore. I want to finish the series of course, I just don’t know how to get past this part I’m stuck on…I’ve been stuck at chapter 4 for months now, and whenever I try to write I get distracted by other things. Sorry any readers who are waiting for book 3… Might be until 2017 for it to be published.

 

Leave a Reply

