Covers, DSP Publications, and yes I am Procrastinating

Sometimes when I look at covers for MMRomance novels…. I know you can’t judge a book by it’s cover, but there’s one reason I like DreamSpinner Press. They can produce some pretty nice covers, and authors have a say in how they want the covers to look like. I just hate ugly covers…I mean if I can do a better job, this really says something about how bad the cover is.

Cover artists probably hate working with me. I’m so anal and specific about the cover I might as well do it myself. But I’m no pro at Photoshop, so I end up bugging the hell out of cover artists, LOL. If I ever have to publish with another publisher…I’d check out the covers first. Yeah, I’m shallow. I can’t help it. Why would I want to publish a book with an ass-ugly cover? No one likes ass-ugly covers. If I had only one contract offer, but the publisher offering it does not have pretty covers…I’d rather my story be free. Really. I published primarily because I wanted professional editors to fix/polish the story I wrote. The secondary motivation is wanting to stroke my ego in knowing at least someone liked the story. The third reason is I wanted a cover made just for my story. So, no nice cover, no go! ┌( ´_ゝ` )┐

Anyhow…. A while back in May or something DSP asked me if they could republish Erasing Shame under the new DSP Publications imprint, which explains why you might not be able to find it in the DreamSpinner Press store at the moment. DSP Publications is an imprint for mainstream genre fiction with characters who happen to be gay, and so when they asked me, I was like…why not LOL, it’s not as though Erasing Shame is ever going to be popular with romance-only readers…hell, if I weren’t the author, I wouldn’t even read my own fic…. What can I say. I dislike angst. And I tend to not read tragedies. Despite the fact that 5 out of 7 fics I wrote in the past had not-so-happy endings. Yeah, I know. I am weird like that ʅ(´◔౪◔)ʃ

I was actually worried that there was too much romance in Erasing Shame for it to be genre fiction. But hey, turns out DSP Publications is still mostly romance so it’s A-OK, and I’m honored to be a part of it ╰(๑◕ ▽ ◕๑)╯. Supposedly the official DSP Publications site will be fully functional around December, 2014, and for the nonexistent people who are interested, the republish date of Erasing Shame is December 2nd, 2014….

As for that new fic of mine, the Relics of Gods…it will be published January 6th, 2015. It was originally slated for July~August 2014 but since DSP kindly asked me if I was interested in publishing it through their new imprint as well, I was like, ok! Even though, again, I worry there is too much romantic focus…but then I also feared people would complain there was not enough romance if I published through DreamSpinner Press, so all is well. I am so glad I got those extra months, since I’ve made some last minute changes while I slugged along with book 2 (yes I am currently procrastinating again, so sue me! I can never understand those authors who write so fast (especially those Mainland authors who also write as a hobby and frickin’ churn out daily updates). I write like 100 words a day because I keep getting distracted (;´༎ຶД༎ຶ`) Best I can do is 2k a week with a day job. Yeah, a week. I estimate needing 20~30k words to wrap up the second book, and I told DSP I’d ideally send the manuscript in December. Ahahahaha…. As the saying goes, “No zuo, no die.” Which am doing the opposite of and 作死ing, especially since I foresee myself making many revisions after I finish the manuscript. Will I make it in time? I dunno. It’s 1:01AM, and I’m going to do the laundry now ( ̄▽ ̄)

Leave a Reply

